Fallapit House

Designation:
All on Devon Gazetteer
Type:
  • Parkland
Parish:
East Allington
Local Authority:
South Hams
Description:

A  seat of the Fortescue family from the fifteenth century which was purchased and rebuilt by William Cubitt in about 1815.  The exterior is early nineteenth century neo-Tudor with five bays with a projecting centre bay.  In the mid-nineteenth century it was described as ‘a spacious &  picturesque mansion in the old English style of architecture: it is situated in a valley, well wooded and watered’.  White (1850) noted that it was ‘a large and handsome mansion, in the Elizabethan style, erected about 35 years ago, near the old one, an ivy mantled portion of which still remains.  The house was enlarged in 1849, and is pleasantly situated in the midst of extensive and tasteful pleasure grounds.’  The sale particulars for 1925 noted that the gardens comprised ‘beautiful banked lawns adjoining the terrace and south front of the property.  Also, full-sized tennis lawn, walks and flower gardens.  Also a large shrubbery and walks studded with fine specimen trees including Douglas, Wellingtonia, Scotch and other coniferous trees.  Lily pond. The whole well screened by a belt of trees and matured rhododendrons. There is vinery, peach house and two other heated glass houses, brick built fruit store. There are two kitchen gardens, one entirely walled and containing fruit trees of various sorts, the other situate at the western part of the property is in a high state of cultivation.’ The Park was ‘undulating and well-timbered. Situate therein is a small fish pond stocked with trout, and screening the property to the south-east is the rookery, a woodland containing timber in maturity and rhododendron walk to the road and also by other coverts to the south.’ 

 

Listed Buildings

Fallapit House and the granary listed Grade II

References

Cherry & Pevsner: The Buildings of England – Devon, 1989: 539
T Gray: The Garden History of Devon, 1995: 101

50.3287296, -3.7419635